Tags

, , , , , , ,

So it’s been about a week and a half since I’ve started listening to Brian Tracy’s No excuses program..
And honestly this program is more then just executing self-discipline it’s about
developing character and integrity. At the moment I’ve been listening to the
program each day for at least 10 minutes.

So far this has lead me 1:34:16 into the program – and I’ve managed
to jot down a mountain of  gold.. I’m slow when it comes to getting through
this program, and that’s because I’ve been trying to execute what it
teaches rather then listening and eventually forget about it.

My statistics

For the passed 13 Days, I’ve set aside 10 goals to complete in each day,
these are the results of those first 10 days..


7                8             9              6              8          6                7               7             6         (null)

When you compare this to me achieving maybe 2 or 3 goals in a day which
I used to do then this result is very good.. but when it comes to developing
the habit of self discipline these results are in-effective. As Elbert Hubbard
says “Self-discipline is the ability to make yourself do what you
should do, when you should do it, whether you feel like it or not.”

That’s the true essence of self-discipline. It’s not about being slightly more
productive or being slightly more efficient but about being DISCIPLINED
and having the will-power to set out and finish what you first don’t feel like doing.

Wheres that leave me then?

I’ve decided that tomorrow morning I’m going to get serious about this and begin
going over my compiled notes. I’ll REALLY suck in an embrace the concept
of self-discipline and NOT let myself have it any other way – now that
I’ve internalized the fact that I will not be what I want to be if I keep on
letting myself slip up, I think it’s time to step up a little bit more and really take shit seriously this turn.

Lessons learned

I really sucked in and internalized through experience (and failure) that I will
always be the same person I am down the track, if I continue on doing what I’m always doing.

To escape that sense you have to defeat your comfort zone and even
over-come fear. Self-Discipline is not as easy as it sounds, but it sure is worth it.

What are your opinions,  do you think there is anything else out there I could
read which would really help me to become more self-disciplined? do you
have any experience in this field? feel free to post your ideas

